T20 World Cup: Shardul Thakur joins Team India in place of Axar Patel

The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced a significant change in the Indian squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, with all-rounder Shardul Thakur replacing Axar Patel in the 15-man squad. According to a BCCI press release, the All India Senior Selection Committee after discussions with the team management decided to include Shardul.

Read also: ‘India has so much ammunition’: Lance Klusener names India’s three key players in T20 World Cup

“All-rounder Axar Patel, who was a part of the 15-man squad, will now be on the list of standby players,” the release said.

While the BCCI did not give any reason for the change in the squad, it could possibly be due to Team India needing a fast bowling all-rounder option in the team, with Hardik Pandya unlikely to bowl in the T20 World Cup.

Pandya has not bowled regularly since his successful back surgery in 2019, and also did not bowl for Mumbai Indians in the UAE leg of IPL 2021.

Meanwhile, the BCCI also announced that Delhi Capitals pacer Avesh Khan, Sunrisers Hyderabad pacer Umran Malik and Royal Challengers Bangalore Harshal Patel, who are all set to impress in the ongoing Indian Premier League 2021 season, “in Dubai Will join Team Bubble and assist Team India. their preparation”.

Other players based in the UAE with the Indian camp to assist the team include Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed and K Gautam.

Indian squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (Vice-Captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar , Mohammed Shami

Stand-by players: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel


Source link

Leave a Comment