English County Championship returned to two-division format

Warwickshire won the County Championship in 2021.© Instagram

The England and Wales Cricket Board announced on Thursday that the English County Championship will return to a two-division structure from next season after two coronavirus-hit campaigns. The Bob Willis Trophy was introduced in 2020 and a three-group structure was used for this year’s first-class competition. Next year, 10 teams will play in Division One and eight teams in Division Two, with a two-up, two-down promotion-and-relegation system.

Each county would be placed in the division in which they would be prepared to compete if the 2020 County Championship had taken place.

Lancashire, Northamptonshire and Gloucestershire achieved promotion to Division One and Nottinghamshire were relegated to Division Two.

The return to the two divisions, with each team playing 14 matches, was voted on by the counties of the first division.


Division One: Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Kent, Lancashire, Northamptonshire, Somerset, Surrey, Warwickshire, Yorkshire

Division Two: Derbyshire, Durham, Glamorgan, Leicestershire, Middlesex, Nottinghamshire, Sussex, Worcestershire

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Leave a Comment