Dinesh Karthik reprimanded for violating IPL code of conduct


According to an official release, Dinesh Karthik was found guilty of breaching the code of conduct during IPL 2021 Qualifier 2 against Delhi Capitals in Sharjah.

Former Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) captain Dinesh Karthik has been reprimanded for violating the Indian Premier League (IPL) code of conduct on Wednesday, the BCCI said in a release. The wicketkeeper-batsman was found guilty during his team’s Qualifier 2 against Delhi Capitals (DC) in Sharjah.

“Karthik admitted to offense 2.2 of Level 1 of the IPL Code of Conduct and accepted the sanction. For Level 1 violations of the Code of Conduct, the decision of the match referee is final and binding,” the official statement read.

Earlier on Wednesday, KKR qualified for the IPL final after a gap of 7 years following a 3-wicket win over DC. Rahul Tripathi hit a scintillating six to capture the game in the final over after a scintillating half-century from opener Venkatesh Iyer.

Read also | ‘Ashwin miscalculated’: Sunil Gavaskar breaks down final over drama as KKR beat DC in thriller to reach final

KKR were making 123 for 1 in 15.5 overs, but from there they had to face a surprising batting line-up. They needed 10 runs in the last two overs but Enrique Nortje dismissed KKR captain Eoin Morgan (0) on the last ball of the 19th over, giving KKR seven runs in the last over.

Shakib Al Hasan (0) and Sunil Narine (0) were removed on the third and fourth balls before Tripathi smashed Ashwin for a six off the fifth ball to give KKR a resounding victory in the end.

This will be KKR’s third final appearance after winning the title in 2012 and 2014. They were able to reach the play-offs at the expense of five-time defending champions Mumbai Indians, thanks to their superior net run rate. They will face three-time winners Chennai Super Kings in the final to be held in Dubai on Friday.

(with PTI inputs)

close story

.



Source link

Leave a Comment