Confused last-minute World T20 selection flip-flop: Thakur replaces Xaro

place of shardul thakur Akshar Patel In India’s squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup on Wednesday. The decision – which comes a month after the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) original squad was announced – now sees Patel adding Thakur’s place to the standby list Shreyas Iyer and Deepak Chahar.

The BCCI All India Senior Selection Committee has also included Kolkata Knight Riders breakout star Venkatesh Iyer and seven others in the list of players who will assist in the team’s preparation.

“Shardul Thakur has been included in the main squad after discussions with the team management. All-rounder Axar Patel, who was part of the 15-man squad, will now be on the list of standby players,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a statement.

According to the ICC guidelines, any team participating in the T20 World Cup can make changes in their team till October 15.

No other reason was given as to why Thakur replaced left-arm spinner Patel, the medium pacer, who has done well for Delhi Capitals in the ongoing IPL. Patel took 15 wickets in 12 matches for Delhi with an economy of 6.65. Meanwhile, Thakur has taken 18 wickets with an economy of 8.75 for Chennai Super Kings who reached the finals.

The UAE leg of this year’s IPL has seen spinners firing shots for most of the games. Jasprit Bumrah is currently in the Indian team, Mohammed Shami And Bhuvneshwar Kumar as fast bowlers. It is highly unlikely that Hardik Pandya will bowl in the T20 World Cup as the all-rounder has not bowled a single over in the IPL for Mumbai Indians during the second leg. As of now, the 28-year-old’s role in the team seems to be that of a batsman.

iyer to help

The selection committee also included opener Venkatesh Iyer in the list of players who will “assist Team India in their preparations” for the tournament. Though Iyer may bowl, the 26-year-old has been a revelation for Kolkata Knight Riders with the bat. There is no clarity on the thought process of keeping Iyer in the list of players who assist Team India.

Along with Iyer, there are other pacers joining the team bubble in Dubai Avesh KhanUmran Malik, Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, leg-spinner Karn Sharma and spinners Shahbaz Ahmed and K Gautam.

Indian squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice captain), KL RahulSuryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra JadejaRahul Chahar Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakraborty, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami

Stand-by players: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel

The following cricketers will join Team Bubble in Dubai and assist Team India in their preparations: Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karan Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed and K Gautam.


Source link

Leave a Comment